Home > IT > my beef with Apple

my beef with Apple

My beef with Apple is the amount of hype they create around their products. And all this hype wouldn’t be much of a problem if it was all true, but you buy into it and you go out and buy an Apple device, say an iPod, only to find it’s hopelessly mediocre when it comes to specs.

I remember the time the first gen iPod was rolled out, a guy from Canada I knew at the time told me about it and you could see he was practically on the verge of ejaculating in his pants over it. It had not even come out yet, he’d not handled it but he was already dying to buy one.  And the funny thing is that some Asian companies were already making HDD players with much better specs than the iPod at the time, iRiver anyone? All Apple had to offer was a slick look.

The third gen iPods had one thing I wanted though, they came with the largest capacity on the market so I splurged and bought one.  Well as has always been the case with me and Apple, I was underwhelmed. To my utter astonishment I found that if I just copied audio files onto my iPod as if it were an external HDD, the iPod’s software refused to see them. I had to use iTunes.  I had a rather large collection of audio books in mp3 at the time, the majority of which I had yet to listen to, so I wasn’t in the least interested in buying anything from the iTunes store. All my audio books were neatly arranged on my computer’s hard drive, with each one in its separate folder. To my dismay when I tried drag-and-dropping folders with audio files into iTunes, it didn’t create play-lists or anything of the kind automatically, all the files just got dumped into one long list. Bummer. I eventually ended up having to manually create a play-list for each audio book I wanted on my iPod before drag-and-dropping the actual audio files in there. Major lossage of time.

I later learned about rockbox, so essentially to make a half decent mp3 player out of an iPod, you have to wipe Apple’s proprietary software and install something else. Otherwise it’s just a device for buying stuff from iTunes.

And then there’s the issue of shamelessly slandering the competition. Thus if you look at this page http://www.apple.com/getamac/whymac/, you may get the impression that on other computers (read Win PC’s) you have to spend hours configuring the devices you hook up to them while a mac just works. Nothing could be farther from the truth, after all Window’s offered the plug and play capability for over a decade now and on top of that, Windows is made to support a far larger range of devices than MacOS.

Honestly I think Macs could get a bigger market share if they didn’t boast so much. Because of all the bragging people are led to expect miracles from Macs and then when you sit at one and start running into problems each time you try something the Mac OS designers didn’t expect/want you to do, you feel somehow cheated.

And then there’s Mac fans, I know a couple, some of them are ok people but there’s those who keep blindly repeating Apple’s claims about ‘other computers’ never even bothering to check that since the mid 1990’s Windows has advanced by leaps and bounds and even some Linux distro’s are practically on a par with Mac OS X in terms of usability.  In fact it sometimes feels like some of these people are followers of some weird cult.  But that’s probably only to be expected if you lure customers in by teaching them mantras about how bad all other computers are and how infinitely superior every device your company makes is.

Well, I don’t want to be in a sect

Categories: IT
  1. Greg
    February 25, 2010 at 6:58 am

    Couldn’t agree more. Sad to say most of the Mac users I know are exactly as you stated and are almost always the most technically illiterate computer users imaginable. Here’s a link that I think sums up the Mac followers idiocy.

    http://www.collegehumor.com/video:1811646

    I hope the link is alright no profanity or anything objectionable. I hope you enjoy it.

  2. igorfazlyev
    February 25, 2010 at 9:54 am

    thanks for the video, I did enjoy it. you know I sometimes think that Apple will eventually end up as a techno-art design studio, making beautiful things that look like gadgets but don’t actually do anything useful. like the i, that is.

  3. March 12, 2010 at 5:31 am

    Your blog is good! Generally when I visit blogs, I just come across shit, but this time I was really surprised when I got your blog containing wonderful information. Thanks mate and keep this effort up.

  4. March 13, 2010 at 3:45 am

    This is pretty awesome 😀

  5. March 17, 2010 at 1:19 am

    Apple has once again built a product that looks perfect and feels great in the hand , and the familiar user interface, borrowed from the iPhone and iPod touch, is perfectly suited to the big screen. My first impressions of the iPad are largely positive, the iPad whizzes along, opening applications, resizing web pages, and zooming in and out of maps almost instantaneously. I´m still waiting to test further, but the first tests are amazing. Regards, Santos Findley

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

